The ABRF Diversity Equity and Inclusion Award


Recognizing the hidden and insidious effects of systemic inequity, The Association of Biomolecular Resource Facilities (ABRF) seeks to fully represent the talents of all people by promoting equity and diversity among Core Scientists and other Shared Resource Staff. 

ABRF chooses to be a catalyst for change.  To that end, the ABRF Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Award recognizes and celebrates individuals or organizations whose work advances the cultural shift required for a fully inclusive, diverse, and equitable scientific community.



The ABRF Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Award Committee accepts nominations of a person, organization, or group whose DEI efforts in biomolecular sciences have moved the ABRF workforce demographic closer to one that represents the talents of all people through one or more of the following avenues:

  • Recruitment into a biomolecular science career path
  • Workforce development of those studying or working in biomolecular sciences

  • Outreach and/or advocacy for DEI within biomolecular scientist networks and organizations

The committee will give particular consideration to nominees whose efforts directly impact a career in biomolecular core technologies.

The Awardee must be open to exploring productive ways ABRF can work to promote DEI in resource facilities.

Nominees cannot be current members of the ABRF Executive Board or the ABRF DEI Award Committee.


For nominees to be considered, a paragraph addressing the criteria above should be submitted to the ABRF DEI Award Committee along with the name, phone number and email address of the individual(s) nominating the person, organization or group incase follow up by the committee is warranted.


All questions should be sent to the ABRF DEI Award Committee.